Why is Washington DC not a state?

, , Leave a comment

Why is Washington DC not a state?

Washington D.C. is the capital of the United States of America, which was named after George Wahington. It was founded on July 16, 1790 and was first named to be the District of Columbia. More popularly called by many as D.C., this district houses the three main branches of the government and is situated at a well defined location. Covered with farmland and tree-covered hills, Washington D.C. is famous for its large parklands and natural overwhelming habitats that is continuously preserved and taken cared of by one certain government agency. The variability of Washington D.C.’s climate is due to its location in the humid subtropical climatic zone. The district therefore, exhibits four seasonal changes and is able to experience extremes in temperature as well as moderation.
As a planned city designed Pierre (Peter) Charles L’Enfant, who was a French-born architect, engineer, and city planner, the creation of Washington D.C. has one major purpose. Washington D.C. was created for the sole purpose of having a capital city of the United States of America. As written in the U.S. Constitution, Washington D.C. is a special district that intended to serve as the permanent national capital. It was created to be the seat and hub of the federal government and is referred to as a federal district. As federal district therefore, it implies that the Washington D.C. is one city that does belong to any one of the states of America. This is explains why Washington D.C. is not a state.
The development of Washington D.C. has led many investors and tourists to visit the city. Great infrastructures, historical sites, museums, and parks along with an enriched culture and heritage, Washington D.C. is one city that never fails its people and brings them at an awe.

Author: plaza

Facebook Comments
Help us improve. Please rate this article:

Leave a Reply